Defeating the Anxious, Money-Saving Introvert

With a school break approaching and travel plans completed only in my dreams, I thought this would be a good time to post about my biggest struggle with living abroad (or anywhere, really). Namely, that I rarely leave my humble abode. Of course, I go out for work, grocery shopping, errands, and a very rare outing with people I know, but other than that, I spend the bulk of my free time in my apartment.

Okay, so that’s not me. It’s a chicken. And that’s not my apartment. It’s a building at the Árbær Open Air Museum in Reykjavik, Iceland. But you get the idea.

I have grand plans for getting out and seeing the world. Oh, I do. And I’m fortunate enough to have the means for the more modest of those plans. I picture all the activities I could do if I visited such-and-such city, all the beautiful nature I could see if I went to such-and-such national park…and that’s about as far as my plans get.

Monument on Viðey Island in Reykjavik, Iceland

Why?  I know that I’ll enjoy my trip once I actually set off on it. I know that there are really only a few steps to planning a local venture out-of-doors. I’ve done it all before, and I truly do want to visit other places. I read blog posts about the locations, stare on in happy envy of people who have shared videos of their adventures in far-off places, and create lists of all the things I want to see and do before I die.

An assorted list of travel experiences in my “travel” section of my Bucket List Journal

Yet here I sit, typing this blog post. I’ve been telling myself for weeks to plan my fall break trip, but with the end of October fast approaching, I continue to procrastinate. Part of me tells myself that if I wait too long and don’t end up with any accommodation for the trip, then “oh, well”. I’ll just go another time, and I’ll have a relaxing week or so at home. As I tell myself this, another part of my brain kicks me, reminding me that I’ll regret not going out.

If I hadn’t gone to Bratislava, Slovakia, I’d have missed this beautiful shot!

That’s when the Introvert speaks up. She reminds me that I’ll likely have very little post-vacation downtime before heading back to work. She tells me that I’ll spend my trip simply wishing I was back at home, away from any crowds–even though the Introvert knows that I want to go to a national park where I can be out among nature.

A beautiful flower I saw at Cheonjiyeon Falls on Jeju Island, South Korea

Enter the Anxious One, who points out how stressful planning a trip is and how distressing public transportation tends to be. “You’ll constantly double-check your schedule,” she reminds me, “Even though you are completely positive you’re on the correct train and will make your connection with plenty of time.” And she’s not wrong.

Train from Bratislava, Slovakia to Budapest, Hungary

“Besides,” the Money-Saver chimes in, “You could be saving that money for something that you actually need, like groceries or flights home or Christmas presents for people.” Never mind that a large part of the reason I moved abroad was to see places I hadn’t seen before while I still had the chance.

Christmas market in Bratislava, Slovakia

These are the challenges I face when planning to do things. I’ve had similar thoughts even as a teenager. I would dread doing an activity, such as going to my martial arts class, only to enjoy my time when I arrived there. I couldn’t justify spending money on going to the movies for the first time in over a year because I could be saving that cash for something else, even if it was seemingly as “meaningless” a thing as a film ticket and some popcorn.

This coffee may or may not have been worth it. Yeah, it was good, but did I need it? I’m not sure. 

I want to travel, and I enjoy traveling alone, for the most part. I know that, if I get stressed during the planning stage, it will only last a few days at most. If I get anxious about catching the train, I’ll have my schedule to back me up. Besides, I’ve missed buses, trains, and even planes before, and I’ve survived. Plus, I’ve been saving money in other areas specifically so I can travel over school holidays. In fact, I put off short weekend trips to appease these sides of me and give myself less of an excuse to stay home during school breaks.

Schönbrunn Palace in Vienna, Austria

In the end, I suppose the only real solution to defeating the Introvert, the Anxious One, and the Money-Saver are to tell them to shut up, then open a new tab in my browser and start planning. Once I do that, it’s usually fine. Or fine-ish. Getting to that point is still a challenge, however. So, what do I do to inspire myself to open that new tab?

Some steep stairs in Bratislava, Slovakia

I look up blog posts, videos, and images of the place(s) I want to go. These could be about the top sights, the most beautiful nature, the tastiest food, or the best travel tips.

Mansion ruins at Póstelek, Hungary. Definitely one of my favorite places so far!

I open my journal planning notebook and make tentative plans or decorative pages of information.

Sometimes this still stresses me out, but not always. Besides, I can switch focus and draw some travel-themed image to paste into the journal instead.

Speaking of journals, I often look at my other travel notebooks and remind myself that not only did I put a lot of effort into recording my trips but that I don’t want to leave those notebooks half-empty. In order to fill them up, I have to go on new trips. And once I fill the notebooks up, I can buy new ones–and who doesn’t love a good notebook or thirty, especially when they pertain to travel?

An entry for the first day or so in Reykjavik, Iceland

What is a blog (or at least this one) if not an online journal? Knowing that I’m reaching the end of the travel posts I’ve accumulated means it’s time to put my fingers to the keys and plan another mini adventure. Thanks for helping me out, everybody!

Church in Salonta, Romania

I (try to) shut down the negative thoughts and worries and remember the good experiences I’ve had on similar trips. Perhaps I look at photos of those travels as well.

Hallgrimskirkja in Reykjavik, Iceland

I talk up the trip to people. It inspires me to get the worst part over with (i.e., the planning), and it also makes me more accountable. If my students know I’m going to such-and-such town, then they’ll remember to ask me about it when school resumes. Sometimes, too, a listening ear and some time to vent are all I really need. Get the toxicity out, untangle the plans, and hopefully absorb some enthusiasm from someone else.

Easter in Hollókő, Hungary

I even focus on other excursions that I want to go on. It may sound like procrastination (and perhaps it is), but it rekindles my desire to travel, which makes it easier for me to click on that new tab and plan the more immediate trip.

Fisherman’s Bastion in Budapest, Hungary. I’d love to see it in every season.

What about you? Do you find yourself facing similar struggles, even just to go out for coffee in the city to meet a new friend or to see some sights with your students? (Okay, maybe those are still a bit specific to me.) How do you get past this speed bump, especially when you feel like you might still be “traveled out” from the last trip you went on (months ago)? Perhaps if none of my usual methods work, one of yours will, and I’ll get this upcoming trip planned before it’s too late. Either way, wish me luck!

Kyoto, Japan

One comment

Leave a comment